Headset recommendations?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My Redline D440 came with a "cane creek" headset that has no model # markings. It doesn't have sealed bearings and seems cheap in nature.

I recently replaced my fork as I went went with a carbon rigid deal. The headset has more play in it then I'm comfortable with. I even went to the local LBS and they confirmed nothing incorrect during my install and its a cheapo headset. Redline used the name "cane creek" as a selling point.

I'd like a nice 1 1/8 headset, under $50 bucks if possible. I'm new to this so what should I look for before I make the purchase?

Thanks

I also emailed cane creek, voicing my displeasure but haven't gotten a response back.....

I'm surprised you have had bad luck with a Cane Creek headset - they're usually pretty good, especially for the money. At your price point I don't think they can be beat, frankly. I've used them in bikes and had good service life out of them and good operation. They're not a Chris King unit, but they work well and last if taken care of. Most of them are sealed bearings as well.

I'm also surprised you haven't heard back from them. The one time I needed a replacement part of a headset, I emailed them, heard back and they shipped me out the part in under a week.

Someone else posted the following here on BITOG a few days ago.