preforming alignments on BMW Active Steering....

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK, So where I work they paid to send me to Hunter to learn whatever Hunter could teach me and then pass that knowledge on to others at my shop.
So far it's been a mix of good and bad. Like using codelink to reset a Toyota with traction control. I use it but others just plain will not cause they insist that it's not nessacery and that this is how they have always done it.
Then there is the BMW with (AS). I studied up on this a little and at no point am I suppose to do an alignment on them without the proper tester. Even the #2 man for my company says we aren't to do them.
So my store manager knows I WILL NOT do these cars. In the past he was god about this and told the owners to get their alignments at a dealer. Then yesterday my store manager goes behind my back to another tech for whom the two of them use to work at sears together asks him to align the car anyway.
I waited until he drove the car onto the rack and I spoke up and firmly said, "I can not believe you are going to have him aligned this car after I just told you we are not to do it!" He told be to mind my own business. So, I yelled this time that this was going to come back to bite him. So he whispers something to the other tech and they continue on anyhow.
I am about fed up with this attitude. How should a approach this?

I wish I could help you, but I am also another guy that gets no authority to prevent this kind of stupidity from happening.

At times like this, I would like to send the store manager to a collapsing dam and give him only roll of duct tape, and tell him to fix it.

Originally Posted By: brelandt
So my store manager knows I WILL NOT do these cars. .. Then... my manager goes behind my back to another tech for whom the two of them use to work at sears together asks him to align the car anyway... So, I yelled...
I am about fed up with this attitude. How should a approach this?