why does bmw require 10w60 ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: nleksan
For what it may be worth, perhaps little or nothing, I have had a lot of experience with all manner of BMW, and a buddy races his E46 M3 at a lot of events beside me. Car is heavily modified, but it is mostly suspension/brakes/wheels/body as well as intake, CSL headers (no cats), Eisenmann Race exhaust, U/D Pullies, L/W Flywheel, custom dyno tune, etc. ZERO internal engine mods, and with 80k miles on his '06 it gets a lot of driving done and is religiously maintained, obsessively-so even.
At an open track day Summer '10, he had a serious oil problem. He has a very upgraded cooling system (Fluidyne rad, Stewart wp, Samco hoses, Oil Cooler, etc), so despite the 90-95*f weather he should have been fine. Lap twelve, he began getting oil starvation issues, minor at first but he had the pressure completely drop two laps later on a high G turn. Pulls off after limping the second half of the lap, and oil temp was over 320*f! I have never seen an M hit anything like that.
Turns out that with the car recently out of warranty he did his own oil change, and used M1 or PP (cannot recall which) at a 0w40 or 5w40 weight. The oil did not have the film strength needed apparently, and he dumped it right there while I drove him 55mi to the nearest BMW dealership where he grabbed 10qts of the 10w60 and a filter, we drove back and did the change, and he was out lapping that afternoon with oil temps well within range.
He has since added a larger oil cooler and a larger capacity baffled pan, so he is now holding over 11qts of oil, but refuses to use any other oil.

Perhaps it was a fluke or something else was behind it, but I always remember that day whenever someone asks why I need oil temp and pressure gauges in my own car (nice gauges too... Analog and digital displayed concurrently).