Which cordless kit? Craftsman or Porter Cable?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm needing a new cordless tool kit. My 14.4 Black and Decker Firestorm set is shot.

Here's the two choices. Prices are comparable with each other. I'm not a professional contractor. If I were, I'd buy a DeWalt kit and pay the price.

I'd be happy with either set, but I was curious about other viewpoints.

Contender #1 - Porter Cable 18v. Ni-cad.
http://www.lowes.com/pd_36099-79992-PC41...nicad-combo-kit

Contender #2 - Craftsman 19.2v. Ni-cad.
http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_00911404000P?prdNo=5&blockNo=5&blockType=G5

I've had the Craftsman C-3 kit for about a year now. There are a lot of additional accessories to grow it. I been happy with it. The batteries when they go on sale go for a good price.

Either set is as good as the batteries. Batteries won't last long in a circular saw.
Cordless drills and cordless reciprocating saws have there uses.
A flashlight's a flashlight.

Originally Posted By: Y_K
I would not pay anything for Ni-Cd.

When the same kit with Li-ion is nearly twice as much?

Craftsman = $229
Porter Cable = $245

I see. Sorry. Then, try to stay on top of training cycles for the batteries to avoid a sudden power loss in the middle of a project. It may go down in half and then it takes a lot of time to kick the bucket, yet the power is dying and dying and dying

I see. Sorry. Then, try to stay on top of training cycles for the batteries to avoid a sudden power loss in the middle of a project. It may go down in half and then it takes a lot of time to kick the bucket, yet the power is dying and dying and dying

There's nothing to be sorry about. I welcome your input.

If I knew that the Li-ion batteries had twice the run-time of Ni-cad, and had twice as many recharge cycles, then I'd more easily be able to understand the value.

Originally Posted By: mrsilv04

There's nothing to be sorry about. I welcome your input.