Corolla 2007 and oil requirements

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi I am new to these forms, spent quite some time just looking around, checking out used oil analysis' and just seeing what the site has to offer. I have been trying to come to a conclusion about the type of oil to use in my 2007 Corolla with the 1ZZFE engine. Til now, I have just been getting my oil changed at the dealer with conventional 5W30 oil, and OEM oil filter. No issues with my Corolla at all, no consumption etc. I have been planning to switch over to a 0W30 M1 oil for during winter here in Montreal. I have also been doing research about other options, such as 0W20. I contacted Toyota Canada twice about this, and thought I would share their responses with you. Here is my question and responses to them from Toyota Canada.

MY EMAIL TO TOYOTA CANADA: Hi, I have a Toyota Corolla 2007 with 115,000kms. Winter is coming up andwould like to use a 0w30 Mobil 1 Advanced Fuel Economy oil, I realize I amout of warranty but want to know what oils should be fine to use. oil capsays 5w30, would 0w20 or 0w30 void warranty?