2012 Mazda5 Best Oil for Long Life?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello. My father's 2012 Mazda 5 has hit 10,000 miles and is ready for it's 3rd oil change. I know the factory recommends 0w20 oil but I feel like its too thin. Would the engine last longer using 5w20 oil? Also, what oil and filter should I use? I've heard motorcraft or mobil 1 are good, but please share your knowledge.

Thanks!!!

Really? I'm a newbie sorry...

Someone know the oil capacity with filter change for the 2012. My father misplaced his manual.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: chevrofreak
You know that 0w-20 isn't really thinner than 5w-20, right? Right?!

Using Mobil 1 as an example...
0w20 viscosity at 100C is 8.7
5w20 viscosity at 100C is 8.9
...so the 0w20 is slightly thinner at operating temp than the 5w20.

Originally Posted By: caideN
Hello. My father's 2012 Mazda 5 has hit 10,000 miles and is ready for it's 3rd oil change. I know the factory recommends 0w20 oil but I feel like its too thin. Would the engine last longer using 5w20 oil? Also, what oil and filter should I use? I've heard motorcraft or mobil 1 are good, but please share your knowledge.

Thanks!!!

As you can see from my signature, I'm in a similar situation with my two Mazdas. I'm running 20wt. in each (following manufacturer recomendations) but I'm going with 20wt. oils that are on the thick side of 20 weights.

Really? I'm a newbie sorry...

Someone know the oil capacity with filter change for the 2012. My father misplaced his manual.

Both of my Mazdas with the 2.5 engine are 5.3qts with filter.

So what oil should I use to expect best engine life? That 1-2% FE I can careless.

It honestly depends on the driving style / conditions.

If you live in a really hot climate, a 5w30 could be beneficial, esp if the car is driven spiritedly and ran Hard on a daily basis.