Help me Decide on a Research Paper Topic.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well Im a Oakland University student and I have a 5 page research paper due in a couple weeks.

Anyways..My professor suggested that I pick a topic that interests ME. Personally, all I can think about is cars, oil etc..

Im asking for a topic to write about. What are some good ideas? I was thinking about writing about - How effective hybrid cars actually car. Like - less emissions, but are not super cost effective. Ie- Chevy volt.

Any suggestions are very helpful.! Thanks.
-Josh

A good paper would be oil standards and how they relate to globalization (ACEA, API, VW 502/505, dexos, etc).

I wrote a similar paper in college about how GSM cellular technologies were an essential part of globalization, especially in developing countries. Nailed it and the prof was extremely impressed.

Originally Posted By: d00df00d
5 page research paper due... in what class?

What are the criteria?

Well im studying Mechanical Engineering, but this is a prerequisite - Writing 160.

There are no big criteria that you need to follow, but you need to stand behind a argument/or possibly disapprove something. Giving several references to my work whether it may be from the internet, books or tv..etc..

Here is one topic from a student in my class.
"The ability of children should not be measured by standardized tests but by their critical and conceptual thinking"

That is his topic and he will stand upon something giving several sources that support it.

Im just trying to think of something automotive related that actually interests me. haha
smile.gif
thanks

Last edited:
I've done several research papers in cars topic. Try "buying used vs new car in today economy" or "Alternative fuel cars and technologies" or research and explanation about oils, transmission evolution, or from candle to LED.