Ranger 4.0 Oil Recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.
Long time lurker, first time poster!

I recently bought a 2000 Ford Ranger. It has 135,000 miles on a 4.0L v6. The thing runs pretty smoothly, and the engine compartment is virtually spotless, no gunk that I can see through the filler cap or dirt/grime/debris anywhere; it appears to have been very well maintained, I think by the dealer, judging by the OCI sticker in the windshield.

My morning commute is 6 miles of highway driving in Northeast Wisconsin, with about a 24-mile-per-day average, all highway. Being in the north, winters are cold and snowy, and summers are very temperate. Recommended OCI is 5,000 miles with conventional 5w-30. Oh, and I am a pretty conservative driver, for sure!

In my last vehicle, I always used major brand synthetics paired with Fram's Extended Guard filters, with an 8,000mile OCI, as recommended by Pontiac.

Other than a longer OCI, will there be any real benefits for using a synthetic with a high-end filter? I am considering the Amsoil lineup all around, or maybe a WIX filter with the off-the-shelf synthetic.

If I go with dino oil, is there an advantage to using a high-mileage formula over, say PYB? Also, Peak is ALWAYS "on sale" at Autozone, or wherever. is this decent oil? I am generally a big believer in you get what you pay for.

Thanks!

I am going to say Mobil 1 HM 10w-30. SL rated oil. I run it and like it. Many people here recommend it. Plenty of talk about it here on BITOG. $25.00 5qts walmart. Second thought would be the Mobil 1 HM 5W-30. I guess it gets a little cold up there! Not a major concern here in NC.....

Last edited:
Castrol Edge 5W-30, or Penz Ultra 5W-30.

Maybe even a 5W-20 for the cold weather there.

I have been using Castrol Edge ( gold bottle) for a couple of years now, changing every 7 months.

Originally Posted By: Nightmare
Castrol Edge 5W-30, or Penz Ultra 5W-30.

Maybe even a 5W-20 for the cold weather there.