Pennzoil Q&A

Click here to participate in the Pennzoil Q&A

Recent Topics
Pennzoil Ultra Platinum - base Oil?
by Profrat
09/03/15 01:47 AM
Bosch 3410 cut open - some reservations - no pics
by Benito
09/03/15 01:27 AM
Oil change observations from today
by Benito
09/03/15 01:10 AM
Autozone actually has a real sale on M1!
by slacktide_bitog
09/02/15 11:25 PM
C&P-NAPA Gold 1372, 8600mi
by meborder
09/02/15 10:42 PM
FS: Redline 5w40 Euro: Seattle Area
by me73
09/02/15 09:41 PM
Por 15 Paint
by outoforder
09/02/15 09:34 PM
Oil have expired date?
by Rohan
09/02/15 09:25 PM
Nippon max oil filter cut open
by chrismo
09/02/15 09:25 PM
Amazon has Havoline HM 5w20, 5QT Jugs
by mongo161
09/02/15 09:05 PM
GM permitting 0w20 in 5w20 cars
by NH73
09/02/15 08:57 PM
New Rockauto discount code
by another Todd
09/02/15 08:34 PM
Newest Members
cmoore, chrismo, Nfranco, MrAnderson, Tsd
55247 Registered Users
Who's Online
16 registered (Brad_C, DoubleWasp, BTW, bbhero, 2 invisible), 455 Guests and 105 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
55247 Members
66 Forums
236865 Topics
3817213 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2376224 - 09/13/11 04:20 PM Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny?
Josh48065 Offline


Registered: 12/21/10
Posts: 203
Loc: MI
Well I own a 2005 Mazda 3s (with he 2.3L;,4 speed automatic transmission)
Anyways, I really enjoy mashing the gas pedal to pass cars or accelerating hard on green lights. drive But now im afraid I might harm the transmission, b/c ive heard Mazda 3 transmissions are weak.

Well the reason why Im asking you this, my transmission shifts kinda hard from 1st gear into 2nd gear, either cold or hot.
But what is weird, It shifts smooth from 1st to 2nd if the RPM's are high. Just jerks when its accelerated normally.
Im worried that the transmission is starting to go? Though I found this online and it seems to be a common problem..and it can be fixed by reflashing the PCM..

http://www.finishlineperformance.com/pdf/mazda3/bulletin/05-010-05-1543.pdf

Mine is a 2005, so its out of warranty. Do you think it would be it worth the $$ to get this performed?


Edited by Josh48065 (09/13/11 04:23 PM)
_________________________
2007 Scion TC. 5SPMT. Mobil 1 5w-30. Driven like its a rental everyday.

Top
#2376231 - 09/13/11 04:30 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: Josh48065]
ERAC94 Offline


Registered: 08/10/06
Posts: 21
Loc: Southwest Alabama
I work in the service department for a Mazda dealer and I can tell you that we have indeed performed this TCM/PCM reflash with good success. As long as you have maintained your tranny fluid (flushing about every 30-40K) you should be ok. Your dealer should not charge you more than 1 labor hour to perform this reflash--If I remember correctly it changes the shift points and recallibrates the PCM/TCM concerning transmission data...Let us know what you decide to do..

Top
#2376259 - 09/13/11 05:06 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: Josh48065]
cmf Offline


Registered: 05/07/11
Posts: 415
Loc: Florida
It says .4 hours at the bottom of the TSB so I wouldn't pay more than .4 hours worth of labor.

Does it have the Ford 4F27E transmission? I'm not sure what years of Mazda 3 it was used in. My mother's Focus has that transmission and I just disconnect the battery to reset the transmission computer. While that may not be an option for you, I can tell you that it does improve the shifting. I also reset it every time I replace the fluid or else it shifts weird.

Top
#2376273 - 09/13/11 05:15 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: cmf]
Josh48065 Offline


Registered: 12/21/10
Posts: 203
Loc: MI
Originally Posted By: cmf
It says .4 hours at the bottom of the TSB so I wouldn't pay more than .4 hours worth of labor.

Does it have the Ford 4F27E transmission? I'm not sure what years of Mazda 3 it was used in. My mother's Focus has that transmission and I just disconnect the battery to reset the transmission computer. While that may not be an option for you, I can tell you that it does improve the shifting. I also reset it every time I replace the fluid or else it shifts weird.


Yes according to wikipedia it does have the Ford 4F27E. I'll have to try that before I spend any money. Thank you for the feedback


Edited by Josh48065 (09/13/11 05:16 PM)
_________________________
2007 Scion TC. 5SPMT. Mobil 1 5w-30. Driven like its a rental everyday.

Top
#2376276 - 09/13/11 05:22 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: cmf]
ERAC94 Offline


Registered: 08/10/06
Posts: 21
Loc: Southwest Alabama
Keep in mind that is warranty labor?? Not that the reflash is hard..by the way when they reflash the computer it gives all the updates available in addition to the tranny reflash..

Top
#2376297 - 09/13/11 05:48 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: Josh48065]
Josh48065 Offline


Registered: 12/21/10
Posts: 203
Loc: MI
I guess I dont know what you mean by warranty labor? Are you saying this could be an expensive job?
_________________________
2007 Scion TC. 5SPMT. Mobil 1 5w-30. Driven like its a rental everyday.

Top
#2376300 - 09/13/11 05:50 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: ERAC94]
Dan55 Offline


Registered: 06/07/08
Posts: 743
Loc: jersey
Are you shure that it doesn't have a Jatco tranny?
_________________________
2010 TL 07 Fit Sport 05 Mazda 3S

Top
#2376321 - 09/13/11 06:15 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: Josh48065]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 26932
Loc: ME
Firm, quick shifts are easier on the trans. Depending on the programming you can get this under light or heavy load or both, but the trans will compensate with line pressure to protect itself under harder accelleration. It's just a question of does it under- or overdo it? Line pressure is one thing that's adjustable by computer control, so a flash can help it.

I would change your fluid first, the friction modifiers are likely worn.

The new cars have engine torque management to protect the trans, I know I have obviously felt it in a taurus. Cuts power while the trans is shifting. You can do this too, by letting off the gas near redline to let it shift then stomping down again.

Top
#2376334 - 09/13/11 06:35 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: Dan55]
Dan55 Offline


Registered: 06/07/08
Posts: 743
Loc: jersey
I had mine done along time ago.The shift shock( in TSB) is noticeable in cold weather.The 1-2 shift in that vehicle is noticeable under light throttle IIRC. Dealer is going to charge you 1hr for reflash .4 is for warranty. More info http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.php?topic=189051.0
_________________________
2010 TL 07 Fit Sport 05 Mazda 3S

Top
#2376346 - 09/13/11 06:46 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: Josh48065]
Josh48065 Offline


Registered: 12/21/10
Posts: 203
Loc: MI
Well I did change the fluid..To Redline d4 actually, ive heard that it helps out alot on cold weather shift-ability.

Dan55 - It might be the Jatco tranny? They just said the Ford 4F27E was used on some mazda 3's but didn't list which ones..I guess that they did. Your probably right tho.

Since you did get it done Dan and it will probably cost me about 100$ You think it will be worth it? Speaking overall longevity on the tranny.
_________________________
2007 Scion TC. 5SPMT. Mobil 1 5w-30. Driven like its a rental everyday.

Top
#2376396 - 09/13/11 07:36 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: Josh48065]
Dan55 Offline


Registered: 06/07/08
Posts: 743
Loc: jersey
Have you replaced the passenger side Motor Mount yet?
_________________________
2010 TL 07 Fit Sport 05 Mazda 3S

Top
#2376407 - 09/13/11 07:44 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: Dan55]
Josh48065 Offline


Registered: 12/21/10
Posts: 203
Loc: MI
Originally Posted By: Dan55
Have you replaced the passenger side Motor Mount yet?


No i haven't. I recently bought the car, he has the paperwork of previous service done and he did get a new motor mount, but I believe its not the passenger side


Edited by Josh48065 (09/13/11 07:45 PM)
_________________________
2007 Scion TC. 5SPMT. Mobil 1 5w-30. Driven like its a rental everyday.

Top
#2376503 - 09/13/11 09:11 PM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: Josh48065]
bdcardinal Offline


Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 7628
Loc: Santa Barbara, CA
Warranty labor is about 1/3 of customer pay labor. Mazda really gives their techs the shaft on warranty labor. Even Ford pays for diag, Mazda expects the tech to pull an answer for free, we have thought of making a Mazda diagnostic Magic 8 ball.
_________________________
2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter

Opinions expressed are my own.

Top
#2376670 - 09/14/11 03:30 AM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: bdcardinal]
The Critic Offline


Registered: 08/30/04
Posts: 18389
Loc: Walnut Creek, CA
Originally Posted By: bdcardinal
Warranty labor is about 1/3 of customer pay labor. Mazda really gives their techs the shaft on warranty labor. Even Ford pays for diag, Mazda expects the tech to pull an answer for free, we have thought of making a Mazda diagnostic Magic 8 ball.


+1

1 hr labor is probably about right, though labor rates range from $125-$145/hr here for mainstream brands.

Top
#2376808 - 09/14/11 08:44 AM Re: Mazda 3 Reflashing the ECU to Fix a Jerky Tranny? [Re: Josh48065]
Dan55 Offline


Registered: 06/07/08
Posts: 743
Loc: jersey
Josh I think you should get the flash done, it will put your mind at ease. Call local dealers for pricing and Good Luck
_________________________
2010 TL 07 Fit Sport 05 Mazda 3S

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >