which napa oil filter is better

Status
Not open for further replies.
I notice napa now has 4 napa branded filters proselect, Gold, and now silver and Platinum. I have a 99 Toyota Camry V6 with 132k miles. I'm a student and I commute everyday to school. I have always gone to quick lube places and I planning to do it myself to save money.
I've heard good review for the proselect. would the silver be a better filter since it cost 70 cents more and it has a silicon anti-drainback valve. Here is a link https://www.napaonline.com/Catalog/Catal...9+50070+2070002

I have always used the Gold as it at least used to be their higher end. Not sure about the platinum now.
Reality is that all of them are decent because even the Proselect was last time I saw one cut open. I don't think you can go wrong with any of them over the quick lube filters.

the napa filters are made by Wix, I dunno what the platnum filter would be.. Wix has essentially 3 filters..
the racing filter, which is designed for short term, filtration isn't the priority with this filter, the regular wix and there's a less expensive wix, which is known as the proguard, essentially has a lower burst pressure rate and a nitrile ADV vs. a silicone.

Originally Posted By: tylerho
would the silver be a better filter since it cost 70 cents more and it has a silicon anti-drainback valve.

Depends on what your oil change interval is planned to be.

I have been getting my oil changed with what the toyota manual says which under severe driving conditions it is 5k miles or 4 months. I just ignore what the sticker says with the whole 3 month or 3k mile change
Originally Posted By: ZeeOSix
Originally Posted By: tylerho
would the silver be a better filter since it cost 70 cents more and it has a silicon anti-drainback valve.

Depends on what your oil change interval is planned to be.

Last edited: