Any negatives to using Techron?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know that there are many people out there that swear by Techron, but is there any kind of downsides at all to using it?What about over the long term, it is harder at all on engine seals, or any other internal components of an engine than running conventional gas through it? I have never used any kind of additives before in my car, to be honest I always though most of them were just [censored] in a can, so I guess I am just wanting some kind of reassurance to actually pour some in my car.
smile.gif

If I do put in some Techron, what is the reccomended number of full tanks I should go through before changing the oil?

I really doubt techron would hurt anything seal wise. I know BMW approves it for use in their cars, as do a few other manufacturers. Techron is in Chevron gasoline, and many other gas companies have similar additives (Shell for one uses a very similar nitrogen based compound).

I have never scheduled it around my oil changes, but I know many people try and put it in a tank and then change the oil when the tank is empty (and the techron is gone).

I always use fuel injector cleaner late in my OCI, so I can change the oil out and get in fresh oil, so yes I plan for that but some don't. I do not think there is a big advantage to using it more than once before every change especially if you use top tier gas. So, basically do your cleaning toward the end of the oil run so you can get rid of any junk that gets in the system. RedLine SI-1 is a great product also.

Last edited:
Porsche approve Techron but state not to do more than 5 treatment per OCI.

I've got some Valvoline with PEA, and the bottle also says not to do more than 5 per oil change...two bottles, and the oil AutoRx darkened markedly.

Im suprised at the 5x per oci limit number. It seems 3-4 too high.

If you are fouling up that bad, seems there is another issue.

Originally Posted By: JHZR2

+1