Flat tappet engines

Status
Not open for further replies.
Can someone explain what a "flat tappet" engine is? Positives or negatives? Is there a better oil to use if you have one? I've got a 3.8L in my Jeep and I believe someone said it was a "flat tappet". Since access to the engine is extremely easy with plenty of room to boot, I want to do all that I can to keep the repairs and maintenance up on it myself. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination but pretty decent turning a wrench when I build up enough knowledge on what I'm working on. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

its an engine where the lifters are just flat metal and they ride on the metal cam. lubrication is an issue because of all the friction.

in later years they have went to roller cams, thats where the lifter has a wheel on the bottom of it to ride on the cam. greatly reduced friction.

if its the 2011 jeep in the sig i would not worry about it. all new engines are designed to run less zddp. so any SN would be fine

I think a flat tappet engine is an Over Head Valve engine. Not Over Head Cams. If valve spring pressure or tension is very high camshaft lobes wear too fast when 20 or 30 multi grade energy conserving motor oil is used. Some folks who expect to keep the vehicle for many years use 40 multi grade, or heavy duty oil instead.

Originally Posted By: jorton
I think a flat tappet engine is an Over Head Valve engine. Not Over Head Cams. If valve spring pressure or tension is very high camshaft lobes wear too fast when 20 or 30 multi grade energy conserving motor oil is used. Some folks who expect to keep the vehicle for many years use 40 multi grade, or heavy duty oil instead.

not all overhead cam engines are roller. the gm quad 4 for example has flat tappets that just sit ontop of the valve springs
my modular on the other hand has roller followers instead of lifters.