How much bike, how much me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JHZR2

Staff member
Hi,

Ill be the first to say that Im not the most in shape or at my optimal weight right now...

That said, I enjoy biking (mtn and road), and do a decent amount of mountain biking on not too complex trails.

Im about 6ft 4, 250lbs. I ride a 26" KHS Alite from 2001. it has a 21" frame, I believe. Size XL. Per the typical fit approach (fingers between the upper bar and me) it fits.

My issues are a few:
-when I sit on the seat, I feel like my feet will barely touch the ground in order to balance at a stop or mounting/dismounting.
-If I lower my seat, I can't pedal effectively because my knee would be too bent at the bottom of the stroke
-I am not very good at going up over stuff, be it a curb, tree, root, bridge step, etc. I dont have the ability to get my weight back far enough.
-Sitting in the saddle, my knee is in front of my toe at some parts of the stroke.

I feel like a 29er with bigger frame would make me sit better, with more mass behind yet in a comfortable position to control the front wheel. I think I need longer crank arms perhaps too.

I fear buying a good 29er, because that means Ill spend >>$1500, and yet remain as lousy as I am. Being more comfortable and being more capable would make me ride more. That said, I dont want to buy parts that dont get me past my fundamental issue if it is really me. That said also, it would be nice to better understand if a larger bike such as a 29er would help me to overcome some of the issues Ive mentioned above versus upgrading parts, etc.

The LBS didnt recommend upgrading because of my size and the superior angles a 29er would give... Yet Im sure they would love to sell me another bike, and up until a few years back, people my size did just fine on 26ers.

Thoughts?