Oil for Silverado w/5.3 afm

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been reading about 07+ 5.3 L GM truck motors with the advanced fuel management feature (cylinder deactivation) developing an oil usage problem around 30-40K miles. Some people believe it is a problem due to the special lifters used in the deactivated cylinders, but some believe it is attributed to an oil problem where oil that is cooled in the deactivated cylinders gums up the rings and allows oil usage to begin after a few thousand miles. I believe GM even has a TSB where the piston is to be chemically cleaned in trucks with engines torn down for this problem.

Since there are so many BITOG experts here, would this oil problem even be possible, and if so what could be done to remedy it? I've even read of synthetic users M1, PP, etc who are having this problem. I can't see this as an oil problem especially when a great cleaning oil like either of these are used, but I'm far from an expert.

Long story short I have an 11 Silverado with the 5.3 AFM. I know GM has gone to the Dexos spec for 11+ and I plan on using PP or QSUD in this vehicle. I'm more than comfortable with that decision, but is there anything else oil related I could/should do to help me avoid this problem, if indeed it is an oil problem.

PP or PU would be great at keeping it clean. you could do 3k ocis, that would help too. also a pint of Kreen added on top of the oil once a year would also keep it clean and take care of any deposits in the ring packs

This isn't the same engine as in my 08' Impala SS???? It has the 5.3 liter engine alonw with cylinder deactivation too. My engine has been rock solid but admit I only have around 13K.

Durango

Originally Posted By: sopususer