1960 Corvair...first start up since 1974

Status
Not open for further replies.
A friend told me he had a 1960 Corvair sitting in his garage that he bought awhile back, but has never tried to start it. He has the maintenance manual. He asked me to come over tomorrow to see if we could get it started. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch, but told him I would offer moral support and double as a witness to the event or non-event. Here are a few things that we discussed last night before we attempt to fire it up:

-replace battery
-change plugs (5 he says)
-distributer (points?)
-gasoline (what kind...additives?)
-engine oil (filter?)
-belt?
-gear/tranny oil
-brake fluid (what kind?)

Although I remember seeing many of these driving around when I was a kid, I don't remember ever getting very close to one or looking under the hood. Does anyone have any experience with this car that can offer some advice on what to do before we attempt to start it? Thanks.

lucky rabbit's foot ?

make sure that your friend knows that if he gets it running, it's only temporary before he rebuilds it.

May as well use ether, and add a tablespoon of ATF in each cylinder (rotate muchly by hand while doing so) to prove that it runs/ran.

Don't walk away with his monkey

I'd get a marine gas can with fresh fuel and a few feet of hose to the carburetor. If you go poking around with the points in the distributor you can mess up the timing or dwell, both things that might sort of work in the "ran when parked" position.

Get that old antifreeze out of there; don't stop until you find the radiator drain!
wink.gif

Don't even bother trying - it will have seized solid. That thing hasn't been running longer than I've been alive, there is NO way it will not be rusted in place.

Even getting it apart to re-build will be hard without breaking something will be next to impossible - I'd tell your fired this is a lost cause!