Oil for 1991 Sportster??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Getting ready to buy a 91 sporty 883 with 16K miles on her. I'm confused on the auto/cycle oil debate. I'd like to save a buck, but not at the expense of the engine. Does it have a wet clutch? And what about the other lube for the tranny, a different oil? Also, would like advice on chain change interval as well as cleaner/lube advice. Thanks all!

The engine oil, chain case oil, and transmission oil are all separate.
A good HDEO oil, 15W-40, or auto 20W-50 would work fine.
If that engine is still iron, as opposed to the newer aluminum one, I'd shorten the OCI's though.

NO, no, no on auto oil.

Use a motorcycle grade 20w-50 oil. Call local HD dealer and get the spec's for your bike, buy a shop manual and do it yourself!

I am new to sportsters,so I am not sure how the 1991 would compare to mine.I have a 2004 1200 and am currently using mobil v twin 20w50 in the engine and primary/transmission.On the sportster you have two places for oil.One is the engine the other is shared primary/transmission.The engine oil does not touch the clutch.Because of what I have read on the Internet I will be using valvoline vr1 20w50 in the engine on my next oil change.On sale now for $2.49 a quart at autozone.I am not sure about what to try in the trans yet,maybe Harleys sport trans fluid.Auto zone also has the mobil v twin on sale for $8.50 a quart.

Originally Posted By: dwendt44
If that engine is still iron, as opposed to the newer aluminum one, I'd shorten the OCI's though.

The engine oil is separate but the transmission and primary chaincase share the same oil.

I think that 1986 was the first year for the aluminum heads and cylinders.

It does have a wet clutch in the primary chaincase but that is separate from the engine oil.

Depends on what you want to spend.

Valvoline VR1 Racing 20W-50 - Engine: 3K, trans/primary 5K
Amsoil MCV 20W-50 - Engine 5K, trans/primary 10K