Rotella T6 5-40 vs. RP 5-30

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well I am a bit on the fence on the oil I am using . I have been using Royal Purple 5w-30 for several years now and have had good luck so far. BUT I have always liked Rotella and have used it in the past. I am very interested in the Rotella T6 5w-40 for my truck (Toyota tacoma 2008). So what do you all think?? Would you make the switch to Rotella T6 over the RP? It just seems that RP is way over priced and T6 seems to be a great oil and it is very reasonably priced. Any UAO that can be posted that show RP or T6 under-performing would be awesome. So please tell me what you think, post oil reports that show short fall with either oil because this is a big change for me, I usually stick with oil for ever but since I left Mobil for RP I have wondered if there was another oil that would do just as well with 5k OCI's, as the Royal Purple would. Many thanks in advance!

I dont care, or give creedence to mfg,s recommends., you use what you want. rotella(esp) T6 5-40 is outstanding.I've used so many blends and oils since i've owned my 69' firebird that my personal belief extends to what life your vehicle has on it.And the use of the bearings ,i could go into extensive ,but you know what i mean.

Is your truck under any kind of warranty?

If so, and you are concerned about keeping it so you don't have hassles with it, you want to use what the manufacturer specifies - which is most likey an API SM, GF-4 5W-30 or 5W-20 oil.

Even IF you don't give a rat's behind about that, Rotella T6 on a newer Toyota truck is not the best option - it's pretty thick, and the truck may become sluggish and not get as good of mileage - stick to a 5W-30 or 10W-30 oil.