Craftsman, Made in China - Return It?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: JHZR2
Boycott the Chinese junk and write them to say so. When they claim they have to do it to stay competitive, tell them that their practice just lost you to competition.

I started doing this, and most mfgs dont even respond lol.

Originally Posted By: Chris142
Originally Posted By: Greggy_D
I'm still ticked about an experience I had with Sears. I received a Craftsman ratchet set when I graduated in 1988. Made in the USA. A few years ago, the 1/4" ratchet gave up the ghost so I brought it back for my free replacement. The replacement was Made in China. The quality difference between the handles was night and day.

I asked for a Made in the USA handle, but they either did not have one or they would not oblige.

They lost a customer that day.

Keep checking back and see if a USA made ratchet shows up on the shelf?

That's so unfortunate. I would have insisted on a USA ratchet, or come back a different day too. But then, I do have backups that will do if one breaks- until I can get it exchanged.

Originally Posted By: Greggy_D
A few years ago, the 1/4" ratchet gave up the ghost so I brought it back for my free replacement. The replacement was Made in China. The quality difference between the handles was night and day.

I asked for a Made in the USA handle, but they either did not have one or they would not oblige.

They lost a customer that day.

There's something wrong with this story. All the CRAFTSMAN ratchets are made in the USA as are all the sockets (except for the black spline sockets). Were they trying to give you a different brand, or were you in Canada?

To the OP. Take the set back and get a USA made set of Craftsman tools. As someone else pointed out, you got a set made for the Canadian Sears store.