Suzuki Savage 650cc as first bike?

Status
Not open for further replies.
While I've cooled off a bit, still have the bug. I went to a Yamaha dealer the other day- they had no VStar 250cc at all, so I sat on a VStar 650. It didn't feel as heavy as I thought it would, but still heavier than I want to learn on.

I've begun looking online at the Suzuki Savage/S40 650cc single-cylinder bikes. Only about 40-50 lbs heavier than most of the recommended 1st bike 250s(Yam Virago/V-Star, Suz GZ, Hon Rebel/Nighthawk, Kaw Ninja) some owners love their Suzuki "thumpers" (even though many say they get buzzy & vibrate badly at highway speeds).

Someone has posted here about the Savage/S40 being a "real man's motorcycle". Exactly what does that mean- hard to handle, needs more skill?

Would a Savage make a good first bike? Or is it more of a specialty motorcycle?

I think what he meant was the Suzuki doesn't have the "starter bike" stigma. When I started riding, I was planning to buy a Rebel. Numerous salespeople refused to sell me one, stating I wouldn't be happy long at all. Looking back they were right. I started on a Triumph Bonneville America.

Now I have a Suzuki, which has had zero issues in 4 years. The S40 gets my nod based upon my admittedly limited experience.

How tall of a guy are you? A starter bike doesn't have to be a 250cc.. I prefer a bit of a larger bike just because I'm 6'4'', not because I want to feel like any more of a man.

I really like the new Yamaha vstar bikes..

I'm about 5'11" tall, with a relatively short inseam of ~30". Gotta be able to flatfoot whatever I get.

I'm having very poor luck finding anything near home & most CL used bike prices run fairly high. If I'm willing to drive over 500 miles round-trip possibilities open up, but it's a long expensive trip to make if the bike in question turns out to be a reject.

A Savage might serve just fine. Oughta get up to 50-60 mph quicker than a Rebel or Virago 250 too!
grin.gif