Mobil 1 0w40 - 7000 miles / 160 hours

Status
Not open for further replies.
Are the insolubles big enough for a filter to catch? A bypass maybe, but the regular cartridge?

BTW any noticeable difference from 0w-40 to the ESP? I've been running ESP 5w-30 for about 10 months and liking it.

Originally Posted By: AlienBug
Are the insolubles big enough for a filter to catch? A bypass maybe, but the regular cartridge?

BTW any noticeable difference from 0w-40 to the ESP? I've been running ESP 5w-30 for about 10 months and liking it.

I think a bad filter would show higher numbers. Otherwise, why even have a filter?

Can't really tell much difference other than slightly longer crank times below 20*F. May go back to 0w40.

The insolubles don't seem to change much in UOAs regardless of brand of full-flow filter and/or oil brand. They will range from a low of perhaps .2 to a high of .7 in most typical UOAs, and will average around .4. In fact, you can see the insoluble level just about the same in many oil systems that also have bypass filter systems.

While Blackstone seems to equate the insolubles directly to filtration levels, I don't see a true corelation in my data study.

Originally Posted By: dnewton3
The insolubles don't seem to change much in UOAs regardless of brand of full-flow filter and/or oil brand. They will range from a low of perhaps .2 to a high of .7 in most typical UOAs, and will average around .4. In fact, you can see the insoluble level just about the same in many oil systems that also have bypass filter systems.

While Blackstone seems to equate the insolubles directly to filtration levels, I don't see a true corelation in my data study.

What *does* an oil filter catch then?