Oil Suggestion 2008 Pontiac G6 GT

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have an '08 g6 48k mi 3.5l v6 auto 4sp w/slapstick. I'm looking for an oil recommendation. I want to take care of this car, but honestly I have poor driving habits and in the past I haven't exactly been nice to my accelerator. I practically walk all over it. I have about a 15 mile commute, roughly half highway/half city. I average 250 mi a week, under variable conditions. I'm also a firefighter and emt so there are times when I turn the key and leave in a hurry. I let the oil circulate when I can, but there are times when seconds count (luckily not on a daily basis).

Hopefully that is enough information for a good suggestion. I'm about 1500 mi shy of the first oil change since I got it from the dealer. I'm partial to M1, purchasing from a store, and relatively short service intervals like 3-5k. Manual calls for API 5-30. Price is not a huge issue, but I don't want to go too crazy. I'm open to your suggestions of oil and possibly additives if they would be worth it. Thanks for any advice in advance.

Originally Posted By: Squatch81
I'm partial to M1, purchasing from a store, and relatively short service intervals like 3-5k. Manual calls for API 5-30. Price is not a huge issue, but I don't want to go too crazy. I'm open to your suggestions of oil and possibly additives if they would be worth it. Thanks for any advice in advance.

Well, you sort of answered your own question!

Mobil 1 (24.50 @ WM), Valvoline synpower ($25 @ WM), Penz Ultra/Plat, Syntec - any of those in a 5w/30 would be great for your application, IF you extended the OCI. 3-5k is on the conservative end - I'd run them until the OLM tells you to change the oil, or 7500 miles.