silverado with 5.3 (b) motor

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have an aluminum block in my 06 silverado. Does anyone think this is a bad thing? Can aluminum crack easier? Anyone have experience with this engine?

Thanks and I am a newbie, take it easy.

My all-aluminum Honda Civic engine only made it 227k under my watch and then I sold it for a larger car, still running just fine. Can it crack easier? Sure, if there's a design flaw or you don't take care of it. Doubtful that it will, however.

Most engines these days are aluminum. Except for rare exceptions, cracking isn't usually a problem. The 5.3 GM V-8 is a very reliable engine.

I have 240kms on my 5.3 and those are really hard
miles. That truck of mine is tuff. It's my winter ride cause a mustang sucks in the snow

The 5.3 comes in Iron block and Aluminum block. Never heard of one being better than the other as far as durability or problem areas. I do know that, at my assembly plant, we build more aluminum block motors than iron.

Just seems rare for a truck. I would expect it out of a performance rig suck as a vette or camaro, but a 4x4 pick up? What's the point? Heat transfer is probably better in the (B) block, but is it worth the added price to shave 100lbs in a utility vehicle that have heavy duty suspension...

Originally Posted By: Joshusmc
Just seems rare for a truck. I would expect it out of a performance rig suck as a vette or camaro, but a 4x4 pick up? What's the point? Heat transfer is probably better in the (B) block, but is it worth the added price to shave 100lbs in a utility vehicle that have heavy duty suspension...

Yes - when you factor in CAFE - they need all the help they can get.

My understanding is the aluminum engine is used to offset the weight added by the 4x4 components.

I have an aluminum block in my 06 silverado. Does anyone think this is a bad thing? Can aluminum crack easier? Anyone have experience with this engine?

Thanks and I am a newbie, take it easy.