Best Additive For Small Rear Main Seal Leak???

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse. It has 133,000 miles on it. It's a 5 speed. I've never had any major problems with it, knock on wood. I had to take it to the garage to have them find an oil leak. They said it was the oil pressure sending unit and replaced it. They also noted that the rear main seal was leaking about a drop or two of oil ever 45 minutes. I know that's not much oil at all. I do not want to replace the rear main seal due to the high cost of it(Estimated $600 or $700). My question is what should I do? I am a compulsive and addicted researcher and reviewer. I research and review almost EVERYTHING I buy. I have read multiple posts and reviews, both positive and negative about Bar's Leaks Rear Main Seal Repair, Lucas Engine Oil Stop Leak, Auto-RX, Marvel's Mystery Oil, etc. I am kind of at a standstill and can't decide on what to try to fix the leak. I have never used any stop leak product or additive in my life! Any input, review, or personal usage report would be greatly appreciated! Thank you all for your time!

I would try using a high mileage oil , if that does not seem to stop the leak I would try the Bar's leak rear main seal repair. What oil are you currently using?

I used Val. Maxlife 5-30 and it stopped the same type of oil leak in the Camry... Try that 1st.
thumbsup2.gif