hand loading small grease gun?

Status
Not open for further replies.
does anyone have any tips or tricks on hand loading a small grease gun. the only grease cartridges i can find for this gun is lithum and would like to try valvolines synthetic but cant find a small cartridge for it. the reason i have a small gun is that it dont take up a whole lot of space and i dont use it that often. someone told me i can hand load an empty cartridge, so i bought a jar of the stuff and am having problems loading it. it only works for 2 or 3 squirts and than stops working. any ideas? thanks.

I'm in the same boat. I've been reloading the same cardboard cartridge in my gun for the past 30 years. The only problems I've encountered are recently when I tried to load Exxon Infinitec - the first time I've used a synthetic chassis grease in my gun. I believe some greases simply aren't pumpable through spring-loaded grease guns.

Well since you are hand loading it anyway. Perhaps you could get one of the smaller cartridges of lithium grease and dump that out of the cartridge and reload it with the synthetic grease. I dont know if it would work or not, but it could be worth a shot.

i have thought of that. my question is how to reload the cartridge? i already have the cartridge, i just cant figure out how to hand load it. this is the first time i try to hand load it and am having a bunch of trouble with the air and such, and i dont know if i am loading it right. i just try to force as much as possible in the cartridge but it never seems to be enough in there.
banghead.gif