Ideal Oils for ARX/ Auto-RX Test

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, this is the first time I will be using Auto-RX, and am looking to create the most ideal conditions for Auto-RX to work to its maximum potential...

Before I ask any questions I'll give the oil guru's all the relevant info that I can think of...

Car: Volkwagon Jetta GLX
Engine: 2.8L 12v VR6
Transmission: 5-speed Manual Transaxle
Miliage: Approx 115,000 miles
Oil Capacity of Engine: 6.5 quarts

Oil Change History: I'm am guessing that it has regular oil changes, since it was owned by a mechanic at the dealership, and it had it's engine "Tuned" with Neuspeed performance products, but I cannot prove what type of oil and how long he went on it.

I have avoided using full synthetic for fear of causing leaks on an engine which I really do not want to touch... (And I'm a diesel mechanic, with tools!?)

I am currently running Mobile 5000 5w-30 conventional oil(I'v been advised to use 5w-20 during the winter here in WI, and 5w-40 during the summer, 5w-30 is for spring) using perculator oil filters. I change the oil every 3,000-3,600 miles.

The engine does not leak oil. It does not burn oil, and I can average 27-29 MPG on the highway, some times better. The engine just needs a good cleaning. I have not used any oil additive products in it since I purchased the car at 100,000 miles.

Since I have but one bottle of Auto-RX ([censored] I love being a college kid, broke!), I am try to maximize the effects of ARX, while documenting it's effects in three areas:

1.) Mileage
2.) Performance in acceleration
3.) Oil Samples, before, during, and after using Auto-RX.

Now here comes the questions:

1.) What type/brand of oil should I use? I was looking at using 5w-30 Valvoline Conventional Oil, or Advanced Auto Parts Generic 5w-30 Dino oil.