Winter Diesel????

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to the world of Diesels....

I live in Colorado and I have a concern about cold temps and diesel fuel. Seemed it was an issue back in the 70's and 80's....when my folks owned a diesel car.

If I am driving up to Breckenridge in January and the temps are negative 17 degrees....do I have an issue?

Should I be adding anything to my diesel?

There are anti-gel additives that either drop the cloud/gel point. Some places also sell #1 diesel, which has better cold flow properties but less energy content.

The brand name diesel fuels are generally formulated with an anti-gel agent during the winter,so you probably don't have to worry as long as you're buying quality fuel from a place that sells some volume (so you're not getting summer fuel out of their tank). Using an anti-gel additive would give you an additional layer of protection and peace of mind though, and really doesn't have any downside.

Thanks for the info.

I suppose I should also ask my VW Dealer what the official suggestion is by VW.

I remember some manufacturers recommended adding gasoline (up to 10% ?) to help with cold weather starting. Can anyone verify this?

Originally Posted By: Kestas
I remember some manufacturers recommended adding gasoline (up to 10% ?) to help with cold weather starting. Can anyone verify this?

Never heard such a thing. Winter diesel already contains kerosene. Maybe that's what they're were talking about.

Long ago blends like this were sometimes suggested to add volatility. Kerosine is a better option to cut the fuel if needed.

Follow up.....

Two weeks ago, the family and I drove up to Grand Lake, just north of Winter Park and did a hotel, over-night. When we woke up the next morning, it was negative 7 degrees. The TDI started right up. We also drove about 30 miles south, encountering temps down to -12.....and problems whatsoever.

Originally Posted By: BigJohn