5W30 Red Line - 5.7k - 2008 Infiniti G37 - VQ37HR

Status
Not open for further replies.
# of Months in Service - 5.5

# of Miles on Vehicle = 13,400 at start of interval - 19,100 at end (oil change)

-Oil Filter is WIX 51365 (Napa Gold).

-Driving is typical commute, no racing and not too aggressive.

-All driving is in Florida and this interval was primarily in the summer month mornings and evenings (85F average).

After this current interval, I am considering changing to Penn Ultra because the car is under warranty and Red Line's lack of certification may be a problem from what I've read online.

I am new to oil analysis, but read what I can on this site. Any input, suggestions, comments are greatly appreciated.
infinitig37uoablackston.jpg

Pennzoil Ultra isn't even in the same ball field as Redline. If you want the best for your engine, you've already got it. The API label on the bottle is only of interest if the manufacturer blames an unlikely engine failure on the oil used. If your engine does in fact, freakishly, disintegrate more than likely Nissan will cover your engine.

Your engine is young and you are treating it to the best, keep it up!

The KV100 reading of 8.85 cSt is interesting as RL is VII free and is impervious to shear.
Any chance that this was RL 5W-20 instead? Not that it matters, with their high HTHS values they are very robust oils.

The report is not bad and as Blackstone says, one report by itself is not enough to judge on.

The report looks good to me, with the two exceptions noted. If you're only going to run it for 5700 miles, I would use a name-brand conventional like PYB, Havoline, QS, Motorcraft, etc., in the API spec and viscosity required. The synthetic isn't buying you anything but higher costs if they don't spec synthetic or if you don't run it out past the recommended OCI.