Help with Seafoam use in neglected engine.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was given an old Trim Rite edger with a B&S 3.5hp engine that has not been well cared for. I got her running and I want to clean up the fuel sustem and carb. I'm not a mechanic and have no idea how to take apart a carb so I want to just use Seafoam. I'm planning on adding about 2 oz to the very small gas tank and run it till it is empty. Is this safe using 2oz in about a 1 quart gas tank? Heck, can I do half gas and half Seafoam and run the engine till it is cleaned up?

Seafoam says to induce Seafoam directly in air intake and/or fuel lines and let it sit for 5 minutes. How do I do this? Put it in a spray bottle and spray it on the air filter? Any help would be great! Thanks!

I would try about an ounce in the gas first, use some mid-grade fuel from a top-tier station (Shell, Texaco,Chevron, etc). It will get some of the gum out of the carb.

If not, it is time to rebuild/clean the carb. Those classic engines have a very simple carburetor.

Just my .02.

Dave

I have mixed 7-8x Seafoam to gas with great results and no issues.

I just recommended the Mid-Grade, as that is what I use for my OPE. Mainly the 2T equipment recommends it (Echo). That L-head Briggs would be fine with 87 regular. It only has about 6:1 compression.

Dave

Before you go through the magic elixir effort, thoroughly clean out your fuel tank. Considering the condition of the machine, there's a very good chance there's rust/dirt/water in the tank. Prior to cleaning the tank, shake it around a bit, pull the fuel line off the carb and run some fuel into a clear container to inspect it. If it's dirty, it's not likely SeaFoam or any other additive will help. It might cut varnish/gum, but it will not dissolve dirt.

As far as blowing it into the carb, forget it. That will do nothing for the carb. That exercise is to remove carbon from inside the combustion chamber and off the valves.... so they say.