Throttle Body Cleaning Tips Requested

Status
Not open for further replies.
'05 Caravan, 2.4L 4cyl eng., 105,000 miles

After doing my timing belt change, my mechanic friend mentioned that my throttle body was dirty. I studied the topic with a search here and am looking for any more tips. My FSM has no procedure.

1. CRC TB cleaner is mentioned often as being SAFE. Others talked about using Sea Foam, FP60, or Dealer brand products. Comments?

2. Can I do this job good enough without removing the TB? (Cable controlled). I'm just plain tuckered out with too much DIY "fun".

3. Damage to special TB coatings (i.e. Ford)....what's the consensus here? Does Chrysler use this?

4.My TB has an Idle Air Control (IAC) and Throttle Position Sensor attached to it. Should I be concerned about damaging them....chemically or physically?

5. Some mention doing this with engine running???? Wouldn't that throw codes?

6. Anything else that I can muck up with this procedure? The Critic recommends NOT using the plastic straw on the aerosol can!!!!!!!!

Thanks everyone for any tidbits of help. Here's a diagram of the 2.4 TB:
0900c1528003c4bf.jpg

Last edited:
Get a can of the crc stuff and go at it, once wet get a non lint cloth and wipe down the plate. Im positive you dont have to remove the throttle body, just give it a good spraying.

Once completed your car might not start right away, i would just keep cranking till it does.

Ive done this plenty of times and its rare it would cause a check engine light.

EDIT: Leave the car OFF. I wouldnt worry about the idle air control valve .

Last edited: