Please explain IGN ADV - Actron9180

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have an 05 Corolla (1ZZFE VVTi) that rough idles about 4-6 miles ~10 minutes into city driving from cold start on cold days (< 50F).

I'm a novice scan tool user. I paid a little extra for the Actron CP9180 (AAP sale) because it can view real-time and record data. There were no error codes no CEL. But I'm hoping the scan tool can pin point or explain the cause of the rough idle. Most of the PID are self explanatory.

However, the IGN ADV PID is a bit confusing. But probably has something to do with the VVTi (Toyota's intelligent Variable Valve Timing). The IGN ADV read 15 - 16 through my 6 mile trip to work. Can someone explain what this metric means? What is the unit of measurement? Is a reading of 15 - 16 for a 6 mile drive, good or bad?

Last edited:
IGN ADV is most likely ignition timing and the units are usually in degrees, though on your scan tool I am not sure if that is a raw value or if it is converted to appropriate units already.