Holster for Ruger LCR

Status
Not open for further replies.
Can anyone explain to me what types of holsters (and the reason for such) are out there for a Ruger LCR (w/Crimson laser grip)? I am new to concealed carry and am not familiar with what a 'paddle' holster is for....nor do I grasp the advantages of an inside the pant holster/outside the pant/or pocket holster? I generally wear my shirts over the top of my pants. I don't like the idea of an ankle holster or an under the arm thing.....and I want fast access.
Please don't blast me for not doing a 'search'. I've done that and did get some info, but I prefer asking a specific question.
Thanks for any help.

Wear cargo pants and get a pocket holster for the LCR.

Works like a champ!

Paddle allows you to pick up the holster and slide the "paddle" inside your pants and the gun is on the outside.

Inside the waistband is just that. Better for CCW than on the belt.

Ankle is good for BUG but not much else IMO.

Take care, bill

From one CCW beginner to another: See if any local store sells all different types and try each one out. Even better if the store has a dummy gun to put in the holster for real effect.

Everyone settles on a preference, but only after trying out each kind.

Right now, I use a Don Hume IWB (inside waistband) leather holster for my PT145. I also have an OWB (outside waistband) that I'd like to use, but my daily dress is more form fitting than loose so this isn't an option.

If I could carry my PT145 in a pocket holster, I would, but the darn thing is so heavy that this isn't an option. One thing to remember about CCW is that if you have to use the restroom in a public place, that gun in the IWB or OWB holster needs to rest somewhere so it isn't visible from the stall cutout near the ground.