Napa Pro Select 21334 cut open...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Made in China...

Was in use 3 months, 10179 Km (6325 miles) summer OCI, 60% highway, 25% commuting and 15% city. 5W-30 VWB.

I have little experience in filter cutting and lack the proper tools hence the lousy job so bear with me.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

The can is thin but the filter in general appears well made. Plenty of even and not distorted pleats but thin as paper. The pleats were easy to rip by hand. The nitrile ADBV was still soft and pliable.

Worth $2.69? Better than the OCOD?

I put another one on and still have another one in stock but will return to Purolator Classic for a few cents more.

Comments are welcome.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Minou
Made in China...

I put another one on and still have another one in stock but will return to Purolator Classic for a few cents more.

Comments are welcome.

Not a bad looking filter, but who knows what the performance is like. Good decision spending 50 cents more for a Purolator Classic which is of know good quality and performance.
thumbsup2.gif

Thanks for posting the pics. I used Proselects and Carquest Red filters for the last 2 years and didn't really have any problems with them. I only ran them for a 3000 mile OCI though. I have heard/read online they are an economy filter and are not made for extended OCI's.

My oil pressure was a little strange on my last OCI. It would hold fine at about 65 to 70 psi when on the interstate at 1800 RPM and 70 MPH, but if I had to stop or slow down due to traffic, when I got back up to speed, the oil pressure would always read 5 or 10 psi less than it had before I slowed down. I don't know if that was due to the filter or the Carquest store brand oil I used.