Changing spark plugs - do I need Anti Seize?

Originally Posted By: onion
Can you give any more detail about your research into fastener clamp loads?

I'm of a similar school of thought- I know what you're getting at when you talk about how much clamp load can be affected by corrosion, worn parts, lube or lack thereof, etc. In many cases (though definitely not all), I trust my own feel more than I trust a torque wrench- but I wouldn't recommend that for everybody (I've been tightening all manner of bolts on a daily basis for 15 years, so I'm pretty confident that I can get them 'close enough').

Lots of people on this site are very "by the book" in their mentality. And that's fine- 'by the book' will usually get you by just fine. But there are factors and effects that are not easily distilled into a book... nor are the authors of said 'book' necessarily concerned with how well a given procedure will work on a 10-year-old vehicle. So long as their advice is effective on a relatively new vehicle using OEM-approved parts... their job is done.

Well, I don't want to bore anyone to death, or attempt to boil down a 1,000 page book into an internet post--but the bottom line is that torque is a rough proxy for bolt tension--very rough...

If you were to take 100 new spark plugs, from the same batch, identical model, same manufacturer into newly-tapped threads, and tighten them with a torque wrench, the actual joint tension would vary by an average of roughly 20-40% based on the literature (and much of the literature isn't even consistent). Of course, that's the average--there would be scatter points with much larger errors. Different manufacturers use different platings on the threads, which confounds things even more.