Removing flecks of house paint from car?

Status
Not open for further replies.
The outside of my place was recently painted, and the painters managed to fleck the side, top, trunk, and windows of the car with white paint (stands out on a dark green car). I have no idea how to get this stuff off without damaging the car paint underneath. The landlord, who contracted these guys, is supposed to come by to look at the car today. Although when I mentioned it, he sounded as clueless as I am on how to remove it.

Anyone have any ideas?

-Spyder

Wash the car and try a clay bar.

30 years of being a painting contractor I never got overspray on anything. If I were you I'd get on the painters case, and have him pay for a complete detail of the car. There are compaines that specialize in overspray removal. He should have insurance, and if he doesn't he'll learn all about the benefits of having insurance.

That was when I noticed it: after washing the car. Before that there was enough dirt on it to mask the paint flecks (it hadn't been washed and waxed in about a month).

It was completely avoidable too. I had told them to let me know when they were going to do the side of the house that I park on and I would move it a couple houses up to a neighbour who lets us use his driveway when we need to. Instead they painted (the flecks are from brush painting trim a few feet away from where the car was parked) without letting me know or covering the car.

My landlord has always been really good though. If I come up with a way of removing it he'll pay for whatever it is (and, I assume, deduct it from what he's paying them).

-Spyder