Best engine/gear oil options for 4.7L 4Runner

Status
Not open for further replies.
First, let me say that I have been reading the threads on this forum for the past week or two. There is an really good amount of info here. So two weeks ago I bought a used 4Runner V8 and changed the oil. The dealership had already done it and overfilled by a LOT and tightened the filter so much that it tok me forever to take it off.

So I ended up putting some leftover Torco synthetic 5W-30 and now I'm out. I'd like to switch oils starting next time and use something with not too much moly but something that does not shear down too fast.

I am a mostly conservative driver but when I go to the mountains really early, I sometimes get on it and like to fly up those mountain roads. The V8 is too addictive. It is a 2005 with 65,000 miles and I am looking for a good oil and a good gear oil as well. Given all the UOAs and other info you all have been exposed to (unlike me) could you all give me a couple of recommendations?

I prefer to buy oil locally available but have no problem buying online. I have used Amsoil engine oil before and would like to try something new.

The manual calls for 5W-30 and I'd rather not switch to 5W-20 just yet- I need to feel more comfortable with it. So any recommendations for a good engine oil and gear oil (75-90)?

For the engine oil, try either Pennzoil Platinum or Pennzoil Ultra. I am running the PU and am pleased so far with the smoothness and quietness of the engine. I'll have to leave the gear oil recommendation to more experienced rear-wheel drive BITOG members(I'm a front wheel drive man).

I like Red Line gear oil. Amsoil Severe Gear is very good as well and I've been hearing some good stuff about RLI's gear oil but nothing firsthand.

Any mainstream synthetic will serve you will. If you want an engine oil beside Amsoil, try Pennzoil Ultra, Castrol Edge, Red Line, RLI, or M1 EP.
21.gif