oil for 03 SVT Cobra

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a BMW Master Tech. love this forum. Have a few questions.

I have a 03 Cobra with an upper pulley, tune and supporting mods. The factory spec for this engine is 5w20. I realize that engine oil weight is based off of engine type, builder recommendation, max oil temperature, tolerances, etc.

From my research it seems that CAFE was primarily the reason behind lighter oil. I don't think a 5w20 oil can with stand high oil temps with high rpm and an engine that makes approx 100 more RWHP over factory.

I have been using GC 0w-30 (winter) and 0w40 (summer) in my car. With 4k to 5k intervals, I now that its overkill but I get oil cheap. I was thinking of using BMW 5w-30 next(get it for 4 bucks a quart) I have seen UOAs of BMWs with 15000+ miles on this oil and they look awesome. But completely different engine.

Could I use Mobil1 15w-50? The car has a 170 T-stat and I can monitor all the PCM PIDs, but I currently do not have an oil temp sensor. The car is a DD right now until I can find another DD. Car sees a mix of Higway and City driving with many WOT pulls.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Edit: I alternate between Lucas UCL and MMO at every fill up and use Chevron Techron every 4-5k miles just before an oil change.

Last edited:
4.6L engine?

You are correct in that Ford went with 5W20 Syn Blend for primarily CAFE requirements as it offered better fuel economy and did not have any issues with burn off or performance.

5W30 would be fine for this engine, and Full Synthetic would be best. BMW Genuine MO? That is made by Castrol and bottled for BMW. The BMW oil does have different additive packages than other Castrol Synthetics, so you can compare BMW to say Syntec.

Castrol Edge 5W30 would be good choice, PZ Platinum or Ultra would be great as well. You don't need a euro spec like you do in the BMW.