Lubrication Engineers 5w30 vs. Others????

Status
Not open for further replies.
Newbie here on this forum and have a question. My neighbor is the Director of Maintenane at major city bus system. He swears by LE products and uses their oils exclusively in his motorcycles (Harley Road Kind and Honda Goldwing) and his cars ('06 Honda Accord v6, Pontiac minivan, etc.). He can quote all different kinds of grease, oil and diff lube specs from memory in a general conversation (way over my head). He suggests switching my two vehicles ('09 Honda Odyssey and '10 Hyundai Sonata) to the LE 5w30 Monolec 8530.

The Honda's first oil change was done at the dealer, and the service manager said they use bulk Castol GTX (he said it was recommneded by honda). And the Hyundai is going to get its first oil change this weekend at 1500 miles.

Is LE a step above the normal off the shelf oils such as Pennzoil or Castrol?

Is 1500 miles to early to change the Hyundai to a synthetic blend?

Does he get some amazing deal on the 5-30? That is the grade that's probably appropriate in TX, but I'm not a real believer that any brand of oil is significantly better than another especially in those mainstream applications, especially when you're stuck at a warranty OCI.

Of course, others will have differing opinions.

Yes, I think he does get a good price on it. He orders by the case and he said he could add whatever I wanted to his order. He gave me a couple of bottles of the LX fuel additive and on more than one tank, I got .5 to 1 mpg better on average in the Oddyssey.

i have an ody with 178k using 5w20 on all sorts of otc brand oils and the engine is fine. Some honda owners have experienced sluggishness in the engine when they went to 5w30. Also the UOA's on honda indicate that the engines are not that hard on oil.

Last edited: