Bypass PSI for Onan 122-0800 oil filter

Status
Not open for further replies.
I would like to get the bypass psi for the Onan 122-0800 oil filter.

I am new at this, and don't know much about oil filters. I have an Onan rv generator that uses an Onan 122-0800 oil filter.
I found the Wix 51762 (NAPA 1762) replacement filter which is 8-11 psi. I would like to get the bypass psi for the Onan 122-0800 to double check this. Can anyone tell me what it is, or can you tell me where I can look it up?

I have seen a couple of places on the net were people said the Onan filter is 8-11 psi, but I am not completely confident with those. Of couse, the cross-reference would indicate that Wix thinks it is 8-11 psi. But I can't find anything official.

I called Onan, and they read something to me that said the bypass pressure is "maximum relief valve leakage at 5 psi - 0.1 gpm, and minimum relief valve leakage at 16 psi - 3 gpm." I guess I don't understand bypass valves, because this seems backwards to me. Anyway, does this mean it is 5-16 psi? If so, would the Wix 8-11 psi filter be good enough? Otherwise, where can I look this up?

I don't know who makes the OEM, but the xref in Wix/NG is the 8-11.

In a Donaldson P550400 it's a 7-10 bypass but they refer to it as the FL400 equivalent (same size)

It's a flat 14 in the Purolator L35098

Very minor distinctions between the 51762 and the 51516.

Part Number: 51762
UPC Number: 765809517622
Principal Application: Kohler and Onan Engines
All Applications
Style: Spin-On Lube Filter
Service: Lube
Type: Full Flow
Media: Paper
Height: 4.529
Outer Diameter Top: 2.966
Outer Diameter Bottom: Closed
Thread Size: 3/4-16
By-Pass Valve Setting-PSI: 8-11
Anti-Drain Back Valve: Yes
Burst Pressure-PSI: 200
Max Flow Rate: 7-9 GPM
Nominal Micron Rating: 21

Gasket Diameters
Number O.D. I.D. Thk.
Attached 2.865 2.421 0.217

Part Number: 51516
UPC Number: 765809515161