Honda Warranty Issues 5-20 vs 5-30?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all, I'm a newbie to the site and have been reading and becoming obsessed! I went to a shop the other day to get my first oil change from FF at 3453mi. (OLM) 50% on a 2010 Civic Sedan, which specifies 5-20. Getting to the point they only had PYB 5-30. I asked and he said no problems with warranty, so I got it. Mistake? I Do have the hot FL summer kickin in. Was this guy Honest with me. Am I gonna have probs if there were to be an engine failure. Thanks In Advance. BTW: About 70/30 Highway/city respectively.

welcome2.gif

Originally Posted By: chubbs1
I Do have the hot FL summer kickin in. Was this guy Honest with me. Am I gonna have probs if there were to be an engine failure. Thanks In Advance. BTW: About 70/30 Highway/city respectively.

Right! if you use 5W30 of any kind, it's gonna Kaboom!

33.gif

First off, relax. It's a Honda.

You'll get every kind of response from telling you to not only change the oil out ASAP ..AND washing your mouth out with soap and water ..genuflecting and confessionals included ...(you get the idea).

You'll experience no issues with 5w-30 in there. Take your own oil next time ..or not.

..and read up on Honda ZEN. You should be smiling while driving it ..and that's about it.

Originally Posted By: chubbs1
C'mon u bein serious? Or Sarcastic because I'm a newbie.

He is joking, since you live in Florida, you will be fine, most 5W-30's shear down to a 5W-20
21.gif

Don't worry, you can use vegetable oil in a Honda engine without problems. But it is best to use recommended weight for warranty.