Filters!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Folks, I decided on PU for the 98 Lexus ls400 I just bought. $28 at Walmart is pretty good. I won't do extended OCIs. I bought a Mobil One filter, which is what I've been using for more than 10 years on previous cars. But I noticed all kinds of other alternatives now. Bosch ( about half the price), K&N (same price). Even a "high end" Fram.

What's the thoughts on filters these days? I'm not really looking to buy an inferior filter to save a few bucks. BUT if I can get the same quality for less, I'm there!

Chip

Lots of discussion on similar subject in the Filter subforum already. You may want to browse some of the recent threads there.

better start up flo, better high heat. I live in NM and drive at 80 in 100 degree temps in the winter

I would buy the Fram extended Guard for half the price of a Mobil 1 and a better filter in my opinion. I dont go extended oil changes, but split the difference on synthetic to 5000 miles. I use the regular Purolator filters. I ussually get the syn for the same price as conventional on clearances and specials though.

Not running an extended OCI, but want a solid filter, why not a Pure One? Excellent efficiency, ~$5.75-$6.50. Lower end price at Kmart, upper at Advance Auto.

Or
Fram XGuard also a good choice at ~$8, but I wouldn't pay the extra for a standard OCI. But, that's just me.

cjgreenberg - welcom to the site!

Presuming your going to stick to OEM OCIs, there is no significant advantage to running a premium filter or oil; you simply don't get the ROI.

Any decent brand of quality dino oil and a "normal" filter will do your rig right, and it will never know that it wasn't fed the high end stuff.

Search over the UOA data. Review the wear metals. You will not find less wear when using synthetics or premium filters for short-to-moderate OCIs.