A Reason to AVOID Top Tier Gas?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I found out today that my gas station where I buy 90% of my gas went to 10% ethanol for "clean air". My MPG has been dropping the last few months to a point its close to 10% over my normal MPG.

They put on new stickers proclaiming the "clean" mix now being dispensed.
thankyou2.gif

Time to find a new gas station. I've been buying gas there for 25 years. Told them so this AM and have sent a email to the company head quarters.

Bill

Originally Posted By: Bill in Utah
I found out today that my gas station where I buy 90% of my gas went to 10% ethanol for "clean air". My MPG has been dropping the last few months to a point its close to 10% over my normal MPG.

thankyou2.gif

Time to find a new gas station. I've been buying gas there for 25 years. Told them so this AM and have sent a email to the company head quarters.

Bill

A laudible sentiment, but you're fighting an uphill battle, and in some places (here, for example), an entirely futile one. You simply can't get pure gasoline here anymore...

I don't believe 'pure gas' exists anymore.

'Pure' gas has almost been 'redefined' as E10, b/c of how prevalent it is. 'Ethanol' gas now refers to E85, for FFV's.

Even statons that think they are getting 100% gas, probably aren't.

I just called Flying J HQ (they have truck stops here in Utah and HQ is here) and they sell gas with NO ethanol. Durning the winter months in some counties they do but post it on the pump when it is.

When down to the local station and no stickers. Asked the manager there and he said the same.

I've got a new place to buy gas.
happy2.gif
I refuse to pay the same price for gas at where I used to buy it and get worst MPG.

And I drive enough that it matters.

Bill