3.0L Diesels

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is my first post on here although i have been browsing here for a few years now. I have some questions regarding people's opinions on the 3.0L diesels as in the Sprinters and in the Smart car for example. First of all, the recommended specs for these diesels are 229.31/229.51 i believe. Now from what i gather, only the mobil 1 5w40 esp formula m meets these specs. Not a problem so far. But when i called 4 chrysler dealers today, they all tell me they are using mobil 1 0w40 in the diesels, but on mobil 1 website or on the bottle, it doesnt meet the specs. what would you do here ???

also, looking for mobil 1 esp formula 5w30 is next to impossible to find up here in toronto, at least from where i have inquired. i would like to pick some of this up if its available as this meets the specs for the newer VW's with 505/507 specs. any help would be appreciated.

Originally Posted By: crazyman
But when i called 4 chrysler dealers today, they all tell me they are using mobil 1 0w40 in the diesels, but on mobil 1 website or on the bottle, it doesnt meet the specs. what would you do here ???

Complain. To corporate if you have to.
thumbsup2.gif

And by the way,
welcome2.gif
to BITOG!

(P.S. I don't think the Smart has a 3.0L engine...)

I run the M1 5w-30 ESP in our VW, we get it at pep boys, not sure if you have them up there.

M1 0w-40 would be suitable for most MB diesels, likely the .51 oils are required only for bluetec variants.

maybe thats the difference with the blutec vehicles. but everyone you talk to gives you a different answer. same as the ow20 oil from toyota, but that for another thread.

If your car requires 229.51, that is a low-ash spec. 229.5 is not a low-ash spec. Mobil 1 0w-40 is 229.5.