Recent Topics
Higher oil pressure. Oil? Filter? Jeep 4.0
by RegDunlop
06/29/16 11:16 AM
NJ's gas tax increase
by Whimsey
06/29/16 11:11 AM
PAO in Mobil 1 0w-40
by loneryder
06/29/16 10:33 AM
2010 Porsche Boxster S, Mobil 1 5w50, 4,700 miles
by Croc
06/29/16 10:18 AM
Amsoil announces 6% price hike
by Kuato
06/29/16 09:28 AM
737 NG
by SEMI_287
06/29/16 09:10 AM
ACDelco vs Valvoline oil filter
by mbar1
06/29/16 08:21 AM
Valvoline Premium Blue RestoreTM
by Rat407
06/29/16 08:16 AM
Dealer says 07 Highlander has strainer. Nope!
by CapitalTruck
06/29/16 08:04 AM
Trailer wiring connector.
by wolfehunter
06/29/16 07:10 AM
Oil for High Performance Turbo Application
by T_Bortz
06/29/16 06:52 AM
Walmart.com Valvoline WB 6x1Quart 10W-30 $7.22
by Farmer
06/29/16 06:41 AM
Newest Members
dpaldino, T_Bortz, rebelx, dougsangster, CrazyCalvinW
58314 Registered Users
Who's Online
79 registered (b1amgm47, Alfred_B, ARCOgraphite, badtlc, Bandito440, bbhero, 9 invisible), 1914 Guests and 10 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
58314 Members
66 Forums
250979 Topics
4113891 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#1858983 - 04/15/10 07:39 PM Industrial generator with 1 hour on it..
dirtymudder Offline


Registered: 10/28/02
Posts: 65
Loc: michigan
In the past year. The generator is inside of a heated building and has a block heater on it 24/7. I know it should have been run on load over the past year but that is past history. question is would you change the oil even though it has only one hour on it? By the way when it runs it supply's 480 volt to a 100hp motor.

Top
#1858993 - 04/15/10 07:50 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
Steve S Offline


Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 18449
Loc: East of IGO
A used oil analysis costs around $30.00 to have done and would tell how the oils condition. What does the manufacture recommend?
_________________________
Why do people post I want the best for my car,,, When there isn't anything that is the best on the car to begin with.

Top
#1859038 - 04/15/10 08:38 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: Steve S]
MolaKule Offline


Registered: 06/05/02
Posts: 17258
Loc: Iowegia - USA
Is it using any oil and has it been run-in?

I assume it's a diesel with about a 100kW output?
_________________________
I got up this morning and ran around the block. Then I got tired so I put the block back in the Toy Box. smile

Top
#1859084 - 04/15/10 09:30 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
bruce381 Offline


Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 3327
Loc: Millbrae, CA
Originally Posted By: dirtymudder
In the past year. The generator is inside of a heated building and has a block heater on it 24/7. I know it should have been run on load over the past year but that is past history. question is would you change the oil even though it has only one hour on it? By the way when it runs it supply's 480 volt to a 100hp motor.



no

Top
#1860482 - 04/17/10 12:20 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: bruce381]
D-Roc Offline


Registered: 11/23/05
Posts: 1526
Loc: quelque part
Plugged in 24/7...I'd be more inclined to test the coolant.

Top
#1865021 - 04/20/10 06:24 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: D-Roc]
dirtymudder Offline


Registered: 10/28/02
Posts: 65
Loc: michigan
Generator has about 2200 hours on it.

Top
#1947404 - 07/09/10 05:56 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
NesloOne Offline


Registered: 07/06/10
Posts: 7
Loc: Denmark
I feel you do the test, although it will say the oil is still in good condition.
_________________________
dieselfuel, hydraulicoil, coalmine

Top
#3222658 - 12/20/13 12:34 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
JR Offline


Registered: 08/08/04
Posts: 1249
Loc: Michigan born but my heart bel...
If it only has 1hr on the current fill a uoa will say keep in service. i wouldn't change or sample the oil. it has no use on it.
i would be more concerned about not running it time to time. if it were mine i would run it up to temp under load every 3 to 6 months.

ken

Top
#3223292 - 12/21/13 12:55 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
Fraser434 Offline


Registered: 09/17/11
Posts: 136
Loc: Chicago
Old Thread, i'm in power generation field service, I see this on a daily basis. Nothing wrong with taking fluid samples and inspecting the generator and transfer switch(s) for proper operation.

CAT put out the option to offer 3 year oil change cycle on CAT diesels C9 and larger in Standby Power application. Can do this by taking quarterly samples and annual filter replacement, still maintain CAT warranty or ESC.

I can tell you a very large telecom company mandates oil changes are to be performed every 3 years or per sample analysis on standby generators.

Still you have issues with engines sitting, injector cups leaking coolant, oil cooler leaking, head gasket or fuel dilution. Just changing the engine oil won't correct these issues and only mask them over for a short period.

Hope this helps.



Edited by Fraser434 (12/21/13 12:59 AM)

Top