Recent Topics
01 Mercury Sable LS 24V DOHC Duratec what PS Fluid
by spk2000
7 minutes 50 seconds ago
2004 PT Cruiser needs 2 transmission pans?!?
by SwedishRider
25 minutes 34 seconds ago
Glue gods Help!
by SumpChump
59 minutes 8 seconds ago
10W40 in diesel engine.
by krismoriah72
Today at 11:53 AM
Please help me find the best T-Case fluid
by dx92beater
Today at 11:49 AM
Oil choice for a supercharged coyote?
by kbmag1
Today at 10:31 AM
Whining noise from Crown Vic
by synthetic_crazy
Today at 10:28 AM
redmax oil smell
by kalmar
Today at 10:12 AM
Gripping on Ice Patches, Hwy Speeds, TyreGrip?
by niero
Today at 10:01 AM
High fuel usage?
by Throt
Today at 09:44 AM
Quaker State reward for FRN is not working right
by NormanBuntz
Today at 09:22 AM
Old Colman Presidental II furnace poly filters
by Vern_in_IL
Today at 08:37 AM
Newest Members
StevenOs, caferacer, Blearyeye, AggiePreacher, novcz
52232 Registered Users
Who's Online
86 registered (123Saab, another Todd, 901Memphis, ag_ghost, AandPDan, 11 invisible), 1615 Guests and 225 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
52232 Members
66 Forums
223698 Topics
3547230 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#1858983 - 04/15/10 07:39 PM Industrial generator with 1 hour on it..
dirtymudder Offline


Registered: 10/28/02
Posts: 45
Loc: michigan
In the past year. The generator is inside of a heated building and has a block heater on it 24/7. I know it should have been run on load over the past year but that is past history. question is would you change the oil even though it has only one hour on it? By the way when it runs it supply's 480 volt to a 100hp motor.

Top
#1858993 - 04/15/10 07:50 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
Steve S Offline


Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 18449
Loc: East of IGO
A used oil analysis costs around $30.00 to have done and would tell how the oils condition. What does the manufacture recommend?
_________________________
Why do people post I want the best for my car,,, When there isn't anything that is the best on the car to begin with.

Top
#1859038 - 04/15/10 08:38 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: Steve S]
MolaKule Offline


Registered: 06/05/02
Posts: 14777
Loc: Iowegia
Is it using any oil and has it been run-in?

I assume it's a diesel with about a 100kW output?
_________________________
I can't wait to see what Movies North Korea will let me view this weekend. smile

Top
#1859084 - 04/15/10 09:30 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
bruce381 Offline


Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 3324
Loc: Millbrae, CA
Originally Posted By: dirtymudder
In the past year. The generator is inside of a heated building and has a block heater on it 24/7. I know it should have been run on load over the past year but that is past history. question is would you change the oil even though it has only one hour on it? By the way when it runs it supply's 480 volt to a 100hp motor.



no

Top
#1860482 - 04/17/10 12:20 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: bruce381]
D-Roc Offline


Registered: 11/23/05
Posts: 1525
Loc: CFB Petawawa, Ontario
Plugged in 24/7...I'd be more inclined to test the coolant.
_________________________
"Close your eyes
Look deep in your soul
Step outside yourself
And let your mind go"

Top
#1865021 - 04/20/10 06:24 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: D-Roc]
dirtymudder Offline


Registered: 10/28/02
Posts: 45
Loc: michigan
Generator has about 2200 hours on it.

Top
#1947404 - 07/09/10 05:56 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
NesloOne Offline


Registered: 07/06/10
Posts: 7
Loc: Denmark
I feel you do the test, although it will say the oil is still in good condition.
_________________________
dieselfuel, hydraulicoil, coalmine

Top
#3222658 - 12/20/13 12:34 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
JR Offline


Registered: 08/08/04
Posts: 924
Loc: Michigan born but my heart bel...
If it only has 1hr on the current fill a uoa will say keep in service. i wouldn't change or sample the oil. it has no use on it.
i would be more concerned about not running it time to time. if it were mine i would run it up to temp under load every 3 to 6 months.

ken

Top
#3223292 - 12/21/13 12:55 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
Fraser434 Offline


Registered: 09/17/11
Posts: 74
Loc: Chicago
Old Thread, i'm in power generation field service, I see this on a daily basis. Nothing wrong with taking fluid samples and inspecting the generator and transfer switch(s) for proper operation.

CAT put out the option to offer 3 year oil change cycle on CAT diesels C9 and larger in Standby Power application. Can do this by taking quarterly samples and annual filter replacement, still maintain CAT warranty or ESC.

I can tell you a very large telecom company mandates oil changes are to be performed every 3 years or per sample analysis on standby generators.

Still you have issues with engines sitting, injector cups leaking coolant, oil cooler leaking, head gasket or fuel dilution. Just changing the engine oil won't correct these issues and only mask them over for a short period.

Hope this helps.



Edited by Fraser434 (12/21/13 12:59 AM)

Top