Recent Topics
Lowes Porduct 498288 on clearance at SOME stores
by Vikas
07/28/14 01:03 PM
Gas mileage eastbound vs westbound
by EdwardC
07/28/14 11:43 AM
Scrathed my windshild trying to remove water spots
by allboy
07/28/14 11:35 AM
Blew head gasket with small groove in block
by WA1DH
07/28/14 11:30 AM
Best most afordable oil filter for my Prius?
by allboy
07/28/14 11:28 AM
New CRV, but free oil changes at dealership
by Schmoe
07/28/14 10:26 AM
I want a smoker
by stockrex
07/28/14 10:06 AM
Anyone looking to get the new 2015 GTI?
by jigen
07/28/14 09:31 AM
Sprocket help
by Smoky14
07/28/14 09:28 AM
Wix Beta Ratio
by Stelth
07/28/14 08:59 AM
New struts - Softer ride?
by Spetz
07/28/14 07:45 AM
Gordon's restart strategy - Brickyard 400
by ledslinger
07/28/14 07:35 AM
Newest Members
kensley, Mirabela, tonyjh63, Samial, TomHh
50785 Registered Users
Who's Online
105 registered (allboy, AandPDan, 147_Grain, 1 FMF, 6x6man, Anduril, 11 invisible), 2254 Guests and 216 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
50785 Members
64 Forums
216947 Topics
3415196 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG

Topic Options
#1858983 - 04/15/10 07:39 PM Industrial generator with 1 hour on it..
dirtymudder Offline


Registered: 10/28/02
Posts: 45
Loc: michigan
In the past year. The generator is inside of a heated building and has a block heater on it 24/7. I know it should have been run on load over the past year but that is past history. question is would you change the oil even though it has only one hour on it? By the way when it runs it supply's 480 volt to a 100hp motor.

Top
#1858993 - 04/15/10 07:50 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
Steve S Offline


Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 18449
Loc: East of IGO
A used oil analysis costs around $30.00 to have done and would tell how the oils condition. What does the manufacture recommend?
_________________________
Why do people post I want the best for my car,,, When there isn't anything that is the best on the car to begin with.

Top
#1859038 - 04/15/10 08:38 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: Steve S]
MolaKule Offline


Registered: 06/05/02
Posts: 14095
Loc: Midwest
Is it using any oil and has it been run-in?

I assume it's a diesel with about a 100kW output?
_________________________
I told a chemistry joke....there was no reaction. smile

Top
#1859084 - 04/15/10 09:30 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
bruce381 Offline


Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 3324
Loc: Millbrae, CA
Originally Posted By: dirtymudder
In the past year. The generator is inside of a heated building and has a block heater on it 24/7. I know it should have been run on load over the past year but that is past history. question is would you change the oil even though it has only one hour on it? By the way when it runs it supply's 480 volt to a 100hp motor.



no

Top
#1860482 - 04/17/10 12:20 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: bruce381]
D-Roc Offline


Registered: 11/23/05
Posts: 1525
Loc: CFB Petawawa, Ontario
Plugged in 24/7...I'd be more inclined to test the coolant.
_________________________
"Close your eyes
Look deep in your soul
Step outside yourself
And let your mind go"

Top
#1865021 - 04/20/10 06:24 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: D-Roc]
dirtymudder Offline


Registered: 10/28/02
Posts: 45
Loc: michigan
Generator has about 2200 hours on it.

Top
#1947404 - 07/09/10 05:56 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
NesloOne Offline


Registered: 07/06/10
Posts: 7
Loc: Denmark
I feel you do the test, although it will say the oil is still in good condition.
_________________________
dieselfuel, hydraulicoil, coalmine

Top
#3222658 - 12/20/13 12:34 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
JR Offline


Registered: 08/08/04
Posts: 920
Loc: Michigan born but my heart bel...
If it only has 1hr on the current fill a uoa will say keep in service. i wouldn't change or sample the oil. it has no use on it.
i would be more concerned about not running it time to time. if it were mine i would run it up to temp under load every 3 to 6 months.

ken

Top
#3223292 - 12/21/13 12:55 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
Fraser434 Offline


Registered: 09/17/11
Posts: 56
Loc: Chicago
Old Thread, i'm in power generation field service, I see this on a daily basis. Nothing wrong with taking fluid samples and inspecting the generator and transfer switch(s) for proper operation.

CAT put out the option to offer 3 year oil change cycle on CAT diesels C9 and larger in Standby Power application. Can do this by taking quarterly samples and annual filter replacement, still maintain CAT warranty or ESC.

I can tell you a very large telecom company mandates oil changes are to be performed every 3 years or per sample analysis on standby generators.

Still you have issues with engines sitting, injector cups leaking coolant, oil cooler leaking, head gasket or fuel dilution. Just changing the engine oil won't correct these issues and only mask them over for a short period.

Hope this helps.



Edited by Fraser434 (12/21/13 12:59 AM)

Top