Recent Topics
What mid 2000's crossover suv should I buy?
by 55Test
10/23/14 10:37 AM
Standardizing on 5W-30?
by Tony_Mack
10/23/14 10:36 AM
Does anyone make a quality battery anymore?
by jeepman3071
10/23/14 10:28 AM
Concrete patio pricing question.
by Vibe_2007
10/23/14 10:09 AM
Does a dirty air filter equal oil consumption?
by WobblyElvis
10/23/14 09:21 AM
Oil lab for analysis in canada
by Baveux
10/23/14 09:05 AM
Parking brake shoes
by ARB1977
10/23/14 06:09 AM
Thesis on lubricating oil systems -
by Shannow
10/23/14 06:07 AM
Oil change on oil burner
by Lubener
10/23/14 05:24 AM
Looking For Economical Vehicle
by 13Tacoma
10/23/14 01:54 AM
M/T Fluid Change in '06 Corolla
by BrandonVA
10/23/14 01:10 AM
Biggest AC Delco/Fram Ultra for GM LSA?
by GM4LIFE
10/23/14 12:10 AM
Newest Members
340_Magnum, aselinger, extrabigjon, monron, Jschreffler81
51672 Registered Users
Who's Online
103 registered (13Tacoma, 55Test, 05LGTLtd, 2010_FX4, 440Magnum, 10 invisible), 1800 Guests and 146 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
51672 Members
64 Forums
221097 Topics
3495154 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG

Topic Options
#1858983 - 04/15/10 07:39 PM Industrial generator with 1 hour on it..
dirtymudder Offline


Registered: 10/28/02
Posts: 45
Loc: michigan
In the past year. The generator is inside of a heated building and has a block heater on it 24/7. I know it should have been run on load over the past year but that is past history. question is would you change the oil even though it has only one hour on it? By the way when it runs it supply's 480 volt to a 100hp motor.

Top
#1858993 - 04/15/10 07:50 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
Steve S Offline


Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 18449
Loc: East of IGO
A used oil analysis costs around $30.00 to have done and would tell how the oils condition. What does the manufacture recommend?
_________________________
Why do people post I want the best for my car,,, When there isn't anything that is the best on the car to begin with.

Top
#1859038 - 04/15/10 08:38 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: Steve S]
MolaKule Offline


Registered: 06/05/02
Posts: 14642
Loc: Midwest
Is it using any oil and has it been run-in?

I assume it's a diesel with about a 100kW output?
_________________________
My bank has a service where they text me my balance every afternoon. I just don’t think they should add “LOL” to the end. smile

Top
#1859084 - 04/15/10 09:30 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
bruce381 Offline


Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 3324
Loc: Millbrae, CA
Originally Posted By: dirtymudder
In the past year. The generator is inside of a heated building and has a block heater on it 24/7. I know it should have been run on load over the past year but that is past history. question is would you change the oil even though it has only one hour on it? By the way when it runs it supply's 480 volt to a 100hp motor.



no

Top
#1860482 - 04/17/10 12:20 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: bruce381]
D-Roc Offline


Registered: 11/23/05
Posts: 1525
Loc: CFB Petawawa, Ontario
Plugged in 24/7...I'd be more inclined to test the coolant.
_________________________
"Close your eyes
Look deep in your soul
Step outside yourself
And let your mind go"

Top
#1865021 - 04/20/10 06:24 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: D-Roc]
dirtymudder Offline


Registered: 10/28/02
Posts: 45
Loc: michigan
Generator has about 2200 hours on it.

Top
#1947404 - 07/09/10 05:56 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
NesloOne Offline


Registered: 07/06/10
Posts: 7
Loc: Denmark
I feel you do the test, although it will say the oil is still in good condition.
_________________________
dieselfuel, hydraulicoil, coalmine

Top
#3222658 - 12/20/13 12:34 PM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
JR Offline


Registered: 08/08/04
Posts: 923
Loc: Michigan born but my heart bel...
If it only has 1hr on the current fill a uoa will say keep in service. i wouldn't change or sample the oil. it has no use on it.
i would be more concerned about not running it time to time. if it were mine i would run it up to temp under load every 3 to 6 months.

ken

Top
#3223292 - 12/21/13 12:55 AM Re: Industrial generator with 1 hour on it.. [Re: dirtymudder]
Fraser434 Offline


Registered: 09/17/11
Posts: 67
Loc: Chicago
Old Thread, i'm in power generation field service, I see this on a daily basis. Nothing wrong with taking fluid samples and inspecting the generator and transfer switch(s) for proper operation.

CAT put out the option to offer 3 year oil change cycle on CAT diesels C9 and larger in Standby Power application. Can do this by taking quarterly samples and annual filter replacement, still maintain CAT warranty or ESC.

I can tell you a very large telecom company mandates oil changes are to be performed every 3 years or per sample analysis on standby generators.

Still you have issues with engines sitting, injector cups leaking coolant, oil cooler leaking, head gasket or fuel dilution. Just changing the engine oil won't correct these issues and only mask them over for a short period.

Hope this helps.



Edited by Fraser434 (12/21/13 12:59 AM)

Top