Oil choice for a supercharged engine??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay so I read the post about which is the correct way to ask one of these questions, so here it goes:

I have a 1998 Pontiac grand prix. The car came with a 3.8l V6 supercharged engine out of the factory. The manual says I should run 10w30 .

I have upgraded and modified the engine heavily with a new cam amongst other things. The car is NOT a daily driver, and is only taken out/started in the spring/summer/fall months. Annual mileage is around 3-5K. I do race the car in the 1/4 a few times a year. I am a spirited driver, and I usually get on it hard a couple times when I do have her out.

I have run Mobil 1 synthetic in the past and liked it, though i never had an oil analysis. I ran royal purple last year and I was not a fan.

I am looking at maybe running Amsoil SSO 0w-30 for my application.....any other suggestions?????

Pablo - why do you suggest those choices? What would be the suggested oil change interval with those oils?

daman - I did like the mobil 1, nothing really wrong with it. I just heard really good things about AMSoil and was looking to maybe try it out. Also I was looking for something more geared towards the car being a seasonal vehicle and racing it from time to time.

Originally Posted By: copgtp
Pablo - why do you suggest those choices? What would be the suggested oil change interval with those oils?

RD30 because the viscosity, the HP/racing engine additive levels, and proprietary friction modifier seem about perfect for your application.

ACD because the HD additive level, the SAE 30 (no viscosity index improvers), the high TBN for long season use, and the lower cost.

Both I would say change annually.

thanks for the advise guys. I'm still open to more suggestions!

Now, I've always used ACdelco filters, as I've always thought the OEM were the best. Does anyone have any other suggestions for filter elements in this application?