Meguiars G110v2 vs. Flex 3401

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am trying to decide between these two units.

1) Meguiar's G110v2 with "soft buff 2.0" burgundy (cutting), yellow (polishing) and black (finishing) pads-- $190.

2) Flex 3401 with Yellow, Green, White and Blue CCS pads-- $310.

I am not going into the detailing business, so my work will be limited to my personal cars and maybe a few cars belonging to friends.

The Meguiars G110v2 is $120 cheaper than the Flex, which is a decent amount. I understand that these units have a very good resale value, so I can always recover most of the cost should I decide to upgrade. Remember that I am a beginner as well.

So, which machine should I get?

Thanks.

Save your money. Get the G110. The difference in performance between the two is not major enough for the casual enthusiast. Used correctly you can get pretty much all the same results from a G110 than you can from a Flex.

Originally Posted By: bretfraz
Save your money. Get the G110. The difference in performance between the two is not major enough for the casual enthusiast. Used correctly you can get pretty much all the same results from a G110 than you can from a Flex.

Thanks. What are your thoughts on the Meguiar's Soft Buff 2.0 pads vs. the LC CCS pads?

the is no comparing the Meguiars unit to the flex, completely different animals.
If you have the cash, the flex is very nice, but I'm guessing you wold be just fine with the Meguiars one.

What I don't get, is how often do people intend to "correct" the paint before it all wears off? How many times do you intend to use this machine?

I would imagine that a few minutes under chemo-mechanical polishing would be the equivalent of several months of environmental wear on the paint surface.

Originally Posted By: The Critic

Thanks. What are your thoughts on the Meguiar's Soft Buff 2.0 pads vs. the LC CCS pads?