Best full synthetic 5w40 for Alfa Romeo Diesel

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a newbie here, and need the forum’s collective brainpower to assist me in deciding on the best oil. The tricky part of my request, is that the vehicle is not one marketed in USA ( a 2006 Alfa Romeo GT 1.9 Jtd – a turbo diesel rated at 110 kw @ 4000 rpm and torque 305 Nm @ 2000 RPM). ECU tuning can increase this to 132 kw/ 380 Nm.

Most of the oils either manufactured or available in USA e.g. Redline, Delo, GC, Amsoil, Pennzoil, Sunoco, Valvoline etc. do not appear in our market.

Alfa Romeo recommends only Selenia WR 5W40, a API SF full synthetic that meets Fiat 9.55535-N2 qualification as lubricant for the Multijet diesel engine. The instruction manual states that should “non genuine” oil be used that it must as minimum meet ACEA A3 spec for petrol/ACEA B4 spec for diesel engines and must also meet Fiat 9.55535-M2. This is for extended 20 000 km drain intervals.

This product is not marketed in South Africa; the Alfa stealers mostly use Castrol Edge 5W40 as Castrol is readily available with Castrol being one of the biggest players in our oil market. I am however not convinced that their 5W40 is the best synthetic I can buy.

In price order, I have the following as choices:

Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 API SM/CF 76.3-13.8-187
Agip Tecsint SL 5W40 API SM/CF 94-14.3-158
Castrol Edge 5W40 API SL/CF 83.7-14-172
LiquiMoly Top Tec 4100 5W40 API SM/CF 85-14-170
Total Quartz 9000 5W40 API SM/CF 82.19-13.6-169

Helix Ultra is the cheapest - equivalent to $40 per 5 litres.