quaker state high mileage not api certified

Status
Not open for further replies.

st9

I was at walmart last night looking at oil and noticed the quaker state high mileage bottles have no api labels on them.
Are they not api certified?

Looks like it won't meet the spec. Worry not...if you trust Shell, buy the oil; if not, don't buy it. The spec it won't meet is probably the economy requirement and maybe the phosphorus limit, maybe others that do not effect engine protection.

Companies like Mobil 1, Red Line, Royal Purple, Amsoil, and Schaeffer's ALL make top performing engine oils that are NOT API Certified.

I think it's really a non-issue to buy non-certified lubes from trusted companies that have been around for a while and produce other products that are certified. And in many cases, a product that carries a "meets or exceeds" recommendation in lieu of a certification may perform better anyway.

I've been using a non-certified engine oil in my car for two years now and the UOAs are fine.

Originally Posted By: CompSyn
Companies like Mobil 1, Red Line, Royal Purple, Amsoil, and Schaeffer's ALL make top performing engine oils that are NOT API Certified.

I think it's really a non-issue to buy non-certified lubes from trusted companies that have been around for a while and produce other products that are certified. And in many cases, a product that carries a "meets or exceeds" recommendation in lieu of a certification may perform better anyway.

I've been using a non-certified engine oil in my car for two years now and the UOAs are fine.

Amsoil XL is APi Certified as are all of the Royal Purple street oils( ie; non racing ).
21.gif

Originally Posted By: st9
I was at walmart last night looking at oil and noticed the quaker state high mileage bottles have no api labels on them.
Are they not api certified?

It's becuase it has the "Slick50" on the label.

If i were SOPUS i'd leave the slick 50 off the label and get the API symbols on...But they didnt ask me;)