How to fill in a bit rut in front of my house?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My house is on a major road in a semi-rural area, no sidewalks. On either side of my driveway alongside the highway is just dirt, and there's a fair sized rut, maybe 6-8 inches deep at its deepest, maybe 16-20 inches wide (sloped sides, though). I'm not sure if this rut was intentionally started some years ago or is just the result of water flowing alongside the road (slight downslope) when it rains. Either way, it does act as a de-facto drainage channel.

Problem is the rut is between the road and my mailbox. My mail carrier left me a note today asking if I could fill in the rut with rocks, and I do sympathize with her but I don't want to do anything that screws up the drainage.

We just moved here and I'm very new to this type of issue. Who should I call for advice on this type of thing? Can I just go buy lots of medium sized rocks somewhere and dump them in? I also have some questions about possibly putting a culvert in at the base of my driveway because of the same water flow issues but that's a little further off -- but I figure the same type of contractor would be able to answer those questions.

I can post a picture if necessary but it's not really all that impressive :)

Just fill it with a rock mix. A cement mix would do fine.

The water will still drain / move and the carrier will be able to walk over the rocks.

post a picture. driveway and mailbox.

next time you have a heavy storm check what kind of flow you are looking at. anything more than 3 gallons a minute i would put a precast culvert in. you could also use PVC pipes filled over at least 1 foot over the crown.

use 5mm to 20mm gravel to fill.

you could even ask your county to do it if it is on public lands.

Is it actually on public property or on your property?