Briggs and Stratton Oil Filters

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all... Got a question..wanting peoples thoughts on B&S oil filters.... alright to use longer filters on these engines..... like the wix 51348 vs the 51056 they call for... about 1/2 price reason i was asking..... just wondering others thoughts on this...and 10-30 in about any brand alright??

I run a Wix 51348 or Purolator L10241 on my grandpa's briggs,
with Shell Rotella 15w40 and it loves it.
I've been running this combo for 3 years now.
10w30 will be fine, but I'd opt for an HDEO if available.
Either 15w40, or 5w40.

I am using a SuperTech 3614, same filter my Saturn uses. Oil has stayed cleaner than with the OEM Briggs filter and my wallet is much heavier. This is on a Murray Rider with a 16.5 hp motor. I had some free Valvoline SynPower 10W-30 free after rebate (SL version). Down to my last quart. Seems to be fine for this engine.

I would definately use a bigger filter if it fits! Those little Briggs things are tiny. Almost like the one in my Dad's Dodge.
lol.gif

i hate to use this word.. but i guess fram PH3614s would be alright too.. will be changed on a reg. basis...

My neighbor is a big Ford fan. Only drives Ford trucks. Maybe I will put Motorcraft FL400s on next time and ride over to give him a look see. He will only use Valvoline oil in his vehicles. So, he should like my combo.

Originally Posted By: MONKEYMAN
My neighbor is a big Ford fan. Only drives Ford trucks. Maybe I will put Motorcraft FL400s on next time and ride over to give him a look see. He will only use Valvoline oil in his vehicles. So, he should like my combo.

One advantage of the long FL400 - it sticks out further, so it's easier to get hold of when it's time to change!!
thumbsup2.gif

http://www.amazon.com/Purolator-PL10241-...3846&sr=1-1

http://www.amazon.com/Purolator-PL20195-...7366&sr=1-1

Great prices on great oil fliters to replace Briggs. (2 for 1 and free shipping).

Question: