wheel lug nut torque

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Corvette Owner
DON'T ever lube lug nut or stud threads ! You will lose a wheel.

IF they are dirty, use a wire brush to clean them up (studs).

I have to agree - if the mfr specs torque for dry threads, it is for a reason.

I have seen plenty of people use grease on their wheel studs, and can't say I've ever seen a problem from it. For my stuff, though, I'm not taking a chance.

Sorry, I disagree. When involved in off road racing years ago, I lubed the wheel lugs and was challanged by the other mechanics. We took our disagrement to a racing engineer and he stated lubrication of the threads has nothing to do with wheel retention, it was strictly a matter of clamp force. I have been lubing all my wheel lugs for probably 20 years and never had one come loose on their own. Never had one frozen or seized either. I also generally under torque them a little, because a wet thread at 140 lbs will provide the same clamp force as a dry thread at a higher torque.

another Todd - Actually, most wheel nuts are supposed to be put on dry, and the torque is spec'd for that.

But I lube my own - always. I see problems in the shop from not being able to get things off, not lugs loosening from being lubed.
I use a little less torque.

Well, my neighbor, an electrical engineer, lubed his lug studs and torqued them. A week later, driving to work he heard a terrible noise, stopped his car, thought his transmission was going bad. Had the car towed. HIS LUGS NUTS WERE LOOSE !

To say "never had" means that your wheels haven't come off, your studs haven't broken, and so on. It's hard to argue with "lack of failure", but I wouldn't call it "success".